Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Register
Committees Overview
Share |

Committees 2017

If you are interested in joining one of the many working committees, please fill out the online form. Your application, which should include your name, contact information, and area of interest, will be forwarded to the appropriate committee chair or staff member. Call for volunteers usually occurs in January and February.


2017 IAFN Committee Chairs and Task Assignments

Awards Committee

Chair:  Elise Turner 

Board Rep: Hannah Pressler

Staff Member: Stacy Robertson


Nominating Committee

Chair: Carol Klamser (elected position)

Board Rep:  Liz Louden


Chapter Officers
Chair: Sheila Early
Board Rep:

Staff Member: Dreama Kirby

Education Committee

Chair: Debra Sterling
Board Rep: Trisha Sheridan
Staff Member: Jennifer Pierce-Weeks


(Conference) Program Planning Committee

Chair: Denise Covington

Board Rep: Dee Krebs

Staff Member: Carol Dunn, Kim Day, and Diane Daiber


Finance and Audit Committee

Chair: Polly Campbell

Board Rep: Stacy Coleman, Treasurer

Staff Member: Stacy Robertson and Sally J. Laskey

Government Affairs Committee

Chair: Jenifer Markowitz

Board Rep: Khara Breeden

Staff Member: Sally J. Laskey


Membership Committee

Chair: Sheila Early

Board Rep: Jacqui Callari-Robinson

Staff Member: Marisa Raso


Forensic Nursing Scope and Standards Task Force

Chair: Sara Jennings

Board Rep:Jennifer McConneell

Staff Member: Kathleen Maguire

Suspect Exam Task Force

Chair: Jill Poarch

Board Rep: Jennifer McConnell

Staff Member: Kathleen Maguire


Research Ad Hoc Committee

Chair: Stacy Drake

Board Rep: Kathy Sekula

Staff Member: Sally J. Laskey






Description of Committees 2017

Awards Committee: 

The purpose of the Awards Committee is to solicit nominations for the various awards given by the Association. The committee will review all nominations and select the winners for each year.  Awards given by the Association include the Virginia A. Lynch Pioneer Award, the Vision Award, the Distinguished Fellow Award, the Achievement Award, the Patron Award, the Service Award, and now the Ann Burgess Research Award.


Commission for Forensic Nursing Certification (CFNC):

The CFNC is responsible for developing and maintaining a certification program for the various areas of forensic nursing practice. Established by the Association, the CFNC is a functionally autonomous component of the Association. The CFNC is the independent governing body for the SANE-A® and SANE-P® certification examination programs. In collaboration with ANCC, the CFNC on behalf of the Association also offers certification by portfolio in advanced forensic nursing, providing recommendations for subject matter/content experts and portfolio appraisers in support of that certification. The CFNC is solely responsible for essential decisions related to the development, administration, and ongoing maintenance of the SANE certification program. The CFNC ensures that all application and eligibility requirements, examination development and administration, certification renewal requirements, and all certification program policies and procedures are directly related to the purpose of the certification program.


Government Affairs Committee:

The purpose is to keep the Board and Membership informed of government policy issues that impact forensic nursing and forensic nursing patients. The Government Affairs Committee is responsible for creating informational contacts with other organizations that impact forensic nursing, forensic nursing practice, or forensic nursing patients. It also informs the Association's BOD and recommends action involving national or international legislation or issues that impact forensic nurses, forensic nursing practice, or forensic nursing patients; educates the IAFN members about government, policy issues that impact forensic nurses, forensic nursing practice, or forensic nursing patients; and collaborates with the Association's lobbyist.  

Membership Committee:

The purpose of the membership committee is to educate forensic nurses and associates on the importance of membership to the International Association of Forensic Nurses. The committee also promotes and supports the IAFN by increasing and retaining membership. 

Nominating Committee:

This committee is responsible for preparing a slate of candidates for open offices on the Board, Nominating Committee, and the CFNC. As outlined in the Association's Bylaws, the Chairperson of the Nominating Committee, as well as all committee members (for a total of three) will be elected by the general membership.

Finance and Audit Committee:

The role of the Finance and Audit Committee is primarily to provide financial oversight for the organization.  It serves to protect the assets of the Association, ensure the maintenance of accurate records of the Association's financial activities, provide a framework of operating standards and behavioral expectations, and ensure compliance with federal, state, and local legal and reporting requirements. Review IAFN's Annual 990 Reports

Program Planning Committee:

The Program Planning Committee is charged with overseeing all aspects of educational content for the Annual Conference program. This includes the review of all abstracts and selection of the various topics to be presented.

Forensic Nursing Scope and Standards Task Force: 

The goal of the Task Force is to review the current edition of Forensic Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice and determine what content, if any, to update or revise.


Research Committee: 

To promote and encourage research in the clinical practice of forensic nurses. The Research Committee currently hosts a Journal Club through the IAFN Member Community and evaluates and rates the posters submitted each year at the IAFN Annual Conference.


Strangulation Task Force:

To review protocols, identifying commonalities and discrepancies, and develop a standardized protocol for the forensic nursing care of the non-fatal, post-strangulation patient.


Suspect Exam Task Force:

To examine and discuss the possibility of developing a position statement and to determine the feasibility of developing a policy/procedure guideline on suspect exams.


Nominating Committee

Chair: Hannah Pressler (elected position)
Board Rep:  Dee Krebs

Nominating Committee

Chair: Hannah Pressler (elected position)
Board Rep:  Dee Krebs

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal